, ,


The ECHL voted in 2015 to allow only one NHL team affiliation per ECHL team however NHL teams can assign players to ECHL teams without being affiliated.

This season there are 27 ECHL teams and 26 have affiliations. The one ECHL club without an affiliation is the Fort Wayne Komets. Of the 30 NHL teams there are four without official ECHL affiliations this season: Columbus Blue Jackets, Florida Panthers, New Jersey Devils and the St. Louis Blues. The Blues now have a “working affiliation” with the Missouri Mavericks however the Mavs official affiliation remains the New York Islanders.

See the full list of 2016-17 NHL-AHL-ECHL affiliations. (See also 2015-16 ECHL Affiliations.)

Updated: October 9, 2016

ECHL Team NHL Team for 2016-17
Adirondack Thunder Calgary Flames (NHL owned; 2016-17) [New Jersey Devils has also assigned some players to Adirondack.]
Alaska Aces Vancouver Canucks (affiliation 2016-17) [Vancouver Canucks announce affiliation for2016-17]
Allen Americans San Jose Sharks (affiliation; 2016-17)
Atlanta Gladiators Boston Bruins (affiliation; 2016-17) [2-year contract for 2015-16 & 2016-17]
Brampton Beast Montreal Canadiens (affiliation 2016-17) [Montréal has renewed their affiliation with Brampton for another season through 2016-17. June 8, 2016]
Cincinnati Cyclones Nashville Predators (affiliation; 2016-17)
Colorado Eagles Colorado Avalanche (affiliation; 2016-17 through 2019-20) [Colorado Avalanche announced a new 4-year affiliation with the Colorado Eagles (July 20, 2016) and ended their affiliation with the Fort Wayne Komets with 1-year remaining.)
Elmira Jackals Buffalo Sabres (affiliation; 2016-17) [Their affiliation sounds like a multi-year deal but there are no specifics.]
Florida Everblades Carolina Hurricanes (Peter Karmanos Jr. is majority owner of both Hurricanes and Everblades; will be sole ECHL team for the Hurricanes)
Fort Wayne Komets No affiliation for 2016-17.
Greenville Road Warriors New York Rangers (affiliation; 2016-17) [Affiliation extended  the affiliation with Greenville for2016-17 & 2017-18. June 7, 2016.]
Idaho Steelheads Dallas Stars (affiliation; 2016-17) [Dallas renews affiliation with Idaho through end of 2017-18 season.]
Indy Fuel Chicago Blackhawks (affiliation; 5 years through 2018-19, April 2014.)
Kalamazoo Wings Tampa Bay Lightning (affiliation; 2016-17) [Tampa Bay announces a 1-year affiliation with the K-Wings, May 25, 2016.]
Manchester Monarchs LA Kings (affiliation; 2016-17) [Aug. 4, 2016: ECHL’s Board approved the Transfer of Controlling Interest of the Manchester Monarchs from Anschutz Manchester Hockey LLC to PPI Sports LLC, a group led by New England businessmen Marc Casper and Brian Cheek. Cheek will serve as the team’s CEO. Last season Florida Panthers assigned some players to Manchester.]
Missouri Mavericks New York Islanders (affiliation; 2015-16 through 2016-17; Mavericks also have a “working relationship with St. Louis Blues.)
Norfolk Admirals Edmonton Oilers (affiliation; 2016-17) [New owners: Media Mango Group. The Edmonton Oilers (Oilers Entertainment Group) sold their ECHL franchise to Mango Media Group, Sept. 29, 2016]
Orlando Solar Bears Toronto Maple Leafs (affiliation 2016-17) [Renewed affiliation through 2016-17 with option to renew another season.]
Quad City Mallards Minnesota Wild (affiliation; 2016-17)
Rapid City Rush Arizona Coyotes (affiliation 2016-17) ][Coyotesannounce affiliation extension for 2016-17.]
Reading Royals Philadelphia Flyers (affiliation 2016-17) [Renewed a multi-year affiliation as of July 10, 2016.]
South Carolina Stingrays Washington Capitals (affiliation; 2016-17) [Renewed through 2017-18 on March 21, 2016.]
Toledo Walleye Detroit Red Wings (affiliation; 2016-17) [Red Wings renew their affiliation with Toledo through 2017-18, Aug. 30, 2016.]
Tulsa Oilers Winnipeg Jets (affiliation; 2016-17) [Renewed affiliation for another year through2016-17.]
Utah Grizzlies Anaheim Ducks (affiliation; 2016-17) [Signed a multi-year extension on Feb. 20, 2016 for 2016-17+.]
Wheeling Nailers Pittsburgh Penguins (affiliation; 2016-17) [Renewed 2-year affiliation through 2017-18 as of August 17, 2016.]
Wichita Thunder Ottawa Senators (affiliation; 2016-17) [Ottawa Senators announce new affiliation for 1-year2016-17.]