, , ,

The ECHL has released their new Divisional Alignment for next season, along with the Kelly Cup Playoff Format. The 6 Division layout mimics the AHL and makes travel less of a burden upon some of these teams. And the most interesting part of this is that each Conference has 1 Division of 4 teams which allows two teams to be added later creating a 30 team league. In the West it is the Central Division, which leaves a nice possibility for OKC to be added in the future. In the East it is the North Division. Is there a chance for Peoria? Or somewhere else in that Division region?

Eastern Conference

| North Division

Brampton Beast, Kalamazoo Wings, Toledo Walleye, Wheeling Nailers

| East Division

Adirondack, Elmira Jackals, Manchester, Norfolk, Reading Royals

| South Division 

Florida Everblades, Greenville Road Warriors, Gwinnett Gladiators, Orlando Solar Bears, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

| Midwest Division 

Cincinnati Cyclones, Evansville IceMen, Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Quad City Mallards

| Central Division 

Allen Americans, Missouri Mavericks, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder

| West Division 

Alaska Aces, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Rapid City Rush, Utah Grizzlies

Kelly Cup Playoff Format for 2016

In each Conference, division winners will receive the top 3 seeds, and the next five teams with the highest point totals in each conference will qualify for the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs. All playoff series will be played in a best-of-seven format with the Conference champions facing off in the Kelly Cup Finals.