Tags

, , , ,

PhoenixWhat are your hockey travel plans this coming season? NHL games? Specific cities? Other countries? Perhaps you have plans for the Winter Olympics in Sochi 2014? Last season I chose to boycott the NHL when they returned, however, I confess that as I found myself in Phoenix on April 4th, the possibility of the Coyotes-Red Wings game was very tempting. I checked online for tickets and by that point it was sold out, so I continued on my way south to Tucson, where a patio awaited with chilled drinks and dinner. Not a bad trade-off!

This past season, even without NHL hockey, I traveled a great deal experiencing my first glimpse of the Central Hockey League, that larger than life Wild West hockey league which can delight yet frustrate me to no end. Over the course of three months I traveled to see CHL hockey in four states — 4 games in Oklahoma (Tulsa Oilers), 2 in Kansas (Wichita Thunder), 2 in Texas (Fort Worth Brahmas and Allen Americans) and 2 games in Arizona (Arizona Sundogs). My article on a portion of my CHL adventures Ice Hockey and the Wild West: Kirill Tulupov and his stint with the Arizona Sundogs appeared on Tend the Farm in late April.

Dallas 2

This coming season my bucket list includes a group of NHL games in Phoenix and Dallas, and an as yet undecided team to the north around the Great Lakes region. As for the AHL, I expect to attend at least one in Texas and others to the north and northeast. Upstate New York and the Northeastern teams would make an excellent trip. The mere thought of hockey in the Northeast as the leaves change is extraordinarily tempting! Fall in the Northeast with its pumpkins, seasonal ales and ciders. The Adirondacks, Vermont, New Hampshire and points Northeast perhaps? And from there, Toronto and Montreal are very close …. Hockey Hall of Fame, Maple Leafs, the Canadiens….egads, the list never ends.

What’s on your hockey bucket list this season? Let us know!

Toronto

