Bob Gaspar (Photo: Bob Gaspar. All Rights Reserved.)

The purpose of these interviews has been to meet new fans and learn more about the people who share a love of hockey in this region, and in particular, support the OKC Barons. Bob, many thanks for participating in this series of interviews. I’ve seen you and Tina at the games and Season Ticket Holder events – and now it is time to meet face to face at one of the games!

Meet Bob Gaspar – OKC Barons Fan!

Background:

PT: Where are you located? Please tell us a bit about yourself.

Bob: My wife and I live in Newcastle, OK. We have lived in Oklahoma since Feb. 1997. I’m in the US Air Force and that is what got us to move to Oklahoma. We love it here and will stay here forever. My wife and I both grew up in New England. Tina grew up in Maine and I grew up in Massachusetts, an hour south of Boston (Fall River, MA).

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Bob: Pretty much my whole life.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Bob:  The Boston Bruins. I watched my first hockey game on TV with my older sister.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Bob:  Bobby Orr and do I really have to tell you why? OK, Bobby Orr changed the game of hockey and oh yeah, he was a great defensemen.

PT: Do you have any hockey souvenirs? What are they?

Bob: Yes I do. Autographed sticks, pucks, pictures, goalie masks. I also have a few hockey sweaters (jerseys) and memories of going to the Boston Garden to watch the Bruins play

PT: What is your favorite hockey souvenir(s)? (Jersey, puck, etc.)

Bob: I have an autographed letter from Bobby Orr, I wrote to him when I was a kid and he sent the letter back to me. It is a form letter from the team but he hand wrote my name and signed his name.

PT: If you are from OKC, were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Bob: Not really a Blazers fan, we were surprised to see that OKC had hockey. We went to a couple games, and did not like the quality of hockey that was played. The Blazers do not even come close to comparing to the BARONS. I would not even compare the Blazers to a college hockey team. I think the UMAINE Black Bears could have beaten the Blazers.

Bob and Derrick (Photo: Bob Gaspar. All Rights Reserved.)

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Bob: Yes, we have been season tickets holders from the start.

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? All? Most?  Explain.

Bob: Well last year we watched almost all of them, this year I got deployed and missed most of the season.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far? 

Bob: It has been a good season so far, we still have some unfinished business. I really like to watch the players developing and getting better.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Bob: Well we try not to play favorites. We like the whole team. We have a small connection with Andrew Lord and Tanner House. Andrew emailed me while I was deployed and I thought that was really neat. Tanner House played at UMAINE and having lived in Maine and meeting my wife there we are big UMAINE Black Bear hockey fans.

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Bob: Tanner House.

PT: Who is your favorite new player this season (2011-2012)?

Bob: Colten Teubert.

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Bob:  Alex Plante, I believe he is one of the players that has really improved from last year.

PT: What would you change about the team itself, if anything?

Bob: We need some defensemen that will knock players down when they are in front of our goalie.

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Bob:  Arcobello, Chorney, Cornet, Danis, Green, Hartikainen, Vandevelde, Teubert, Pitlick.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Bob: Andrew Lord emailing me while I was on my Air Force deployment.

PT: Do you have any additional comments regarding the team and players?

Bob: We love how we get to interact with everyone from the owner to the zamboni drivers.

Off-ice Fan Experiences – this includes inside the arena, outside events and social media:

PT: How is the off-ice experience for you as a fan this season? Pass or Fail and Why?

Bob: Blue Line club is great, season ticket holders parties are great. As a season ticket holder it is nice to have a few extras.

PT: What has been your best off-ice experience this season and why?

Bob: I made it back from my deployment to attend the last season ticket holders party at the science museum, it was a great time and a great way to celebrate returning to OKC.

PT: What has been your worst off-ice experience this season and why?

Bob: Food options in the arena are not that good, but we kind of have the Blue Line club now.

PT: What would you like to change about the off-ice experience for next season?

Bob: Maybe have a badge that season ticket holders can wear or show so it is a little easier for workers and/or staff to identify us.

PT: As a fan, what is your opinion of the social media aspect (Twitter, Facebook, Website)? Pass or Fail and Why?

Bob: I go to the BARONS website and facebook at least once a day they are great.

PT: Do you have any additional comments on this subject?

Bob: I know I missed a lot of this season but Tina and I have had a great time at the games we have been able to attend up to this point!

Tina Gaspar (Photo: Bob Gaspar. All Rights Reserved.)

