Carol and Mike Scott (Photo: Caroll Tabian Scott. All Rights Reserved.)

Today, meet Carol who is a Vancouver Canucks fan here in OKC!! (Hey, I can’t help but track down as many Canucks fans as possible here in Oklahoma! We are few but very loud about it!)

Meet Carol Tabian Scott – OKC Barons Fan!

Background:

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Carol:  For over 15 years now. I got into hockey when my boys started playing as young kids. And learning the game made it so much more enjoyable to watch. I am hooked now!!!

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Carol:  Vancouver Canucks all the way. I lived near Vancouver and was raised with the Canucks.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Carol:  Now that I have moved to OKC from Vancouver, Canada, I don’t get a chance to watch many Canuck Games. I don’t have a favorite anymore as they are so many new guys coming up and I don’t watch it enough to have a favorite. I just love the game and really enjoy watching it when I can. My Hubby and I were just in Dallas a couple weeks back to watch the Canucks play the Stars. It was Mike’s first NHL game and he loved it. And we won too!

PT: Do you have any hockey souvenirs? What are they?

Carol:  I don’t have a lot of souvenirs, just a t-shirt, jersey and hoodie I like to wear when I go watch them play.

PT: Were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Carol:  When I used to come visit before I moved here I went to a few Blazer games and enjoyed them because I love Hockey. Now there is no comparison with the Barons here. AHL Hockey is so much better to watch. It’s not a bunch of goons on the ice messing around. The Barons are going places and the players have a direction.

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Carol:  My Hubby and I have been Season Ticket Holders since they first started and love every minute of it.

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? All? Most?  Explain.

Carol:   We are at every game. I hate missing them.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far? 

Carol:  It’s great and I have really enjoyed watching them. I don’t get all involved with the politics of the team. I just like going out and cheering the Barons on.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Carol:  My very first player was Jake Taylor from last year. He was good on the ice and really did a good job as defence. And I really enjoyed talking to him too at the Parties we attended. But all the guys are good to talk to and I enjoy watching them as well. This year Jake’s gone. I have a sweet spot for Helmer. It’s not the same without him out there on the ice. He is always smiling and just loves the game. And I also like what he’s doing for the kids. Helmer’s Heroes is the best!!

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Carol:  Helmer and Plante. I really missed seeing Plante out there when he was injured. And seeing him skate up for the starting line-up with speed and a smile really is awesome.

PT: Who is your favorite new player this season (2011-2012)?

Carol:  Helmer. But really I like them all. Helmer just sticks out a little more to me.

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Carol:  Again Helmer. He’s just solid out there and looks after the team. A good leader.

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Carol:  Well Teemu who is already up there. And everyone is working hard to make their way up too. It’s sad seeing them leave but that’s the AHL for you. You kinda accept it.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Carol:  I haven’t been involved much with the team other than just watching the game, but it really seems like it is well put together and it is a well-run team

Off-ice Fan Experiences – this includes inside the arena, outside events and social media:

PT: How is the off-ice experience for you as a fan this season? Pass or Fail and Why?

Carol:  We are happy with the way the team is being run and really enjoy the STH Parties they put on and talking to the players is a lot of fun. The staff is always right there to help if needed and all of them are very friendly.

PT: What has been your best off-ice experience this season and why?

Carol:  Like I said. We are happy with it all really. Nothing to really complain about. I had the honor of meeting Bit in the Barons Store not long after he started and I really enjoy what he brings in. Derrick and Bit make a great team. They are working the crowd and having fun as they do it.

PT: What has been your worst off-ice experience this season and why?

Carol:  I really thought at the beginning of the year when Shane started with the Barons it was a nice change, but he hurts your ears when he yells into the mic. Toning his voice down would be nice. But I don’t have any other complaints that I can really think of.

PT: What would you like to change about the off-ice experience for next season?

Carol:  It’s always nice to see new video clips on the big screen. And new songs are good to change things up too.

PT: As a fan, what is your opinion of the social media aspect (Twitter, Facebook, Website)? Pass or Fail and Why?

Carol:  I like getting the updates on Facebook . It’s nice to know keep up with things if we don’t attend a game one night and just finding out what’s going on

PT: Do you have any additional comments on this subject?

Carol:  Looking forward to another great season as Season Ticket Holders. Thanks for bringing hockey to OKC!

Carol Tabian Scott with her season tickets. (Photo: Caroll Tabian Scott. All Rights Reserved.)

