Carol and Mike Scott (Photo: Carol Scott. All Rights Reserved.)

Yes, we have Vancouver Canucks fans in OKC! I first learned about Carol and Mike through a mutual friend during a conversation when I was lamenting the lack of Canucks fans here in Oklahoma. Next up, we will hear from Carol!

Meet Mike Scott – OKC Barons Fan!!

Background:

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Mike:  I have been a hockey fan since I was a kid.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Mike:  The Vancouver Canucks.  My wife, Carol, is from Vancouver so I took an interest.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Mike:  The Sedin twins, and any of the Barons that get called up!

PT: Do you have any hockey souvenirs? What are they?

Mike:  I don’t have a great deal of souvenirs, I have a few Barons and Canucks clothing items.

PT: What is your favorite hockey souvenir(s)? (Jersey, puck, etc.)

Mike: I suppose my Barons jersey.

PT: If you are from OKC, were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Mike:  Yes, I liked the Blazers though I was never a season ticket holder.  The AHL level of hockey is more enjoyable to watch, and it is exciting to see our guys move on to the highest level of hockey.

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Mike:  Yes, the first day the tickets were available we signed up for season tickets.

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? All? Most?  Explain.

Mike:  I would guess between the regular season and playoffs I see about 30-35 games.  I would probably watch even more if not for work commitments.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far? 

Mike:  Well, being in first place in the West you can’t really complain!  I think the goaltending from Danis and Lenevue has been outstanding.  Helmer really embraces his leadership role and I think the team is better for it.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Mike: My favorite is Alex Plante.  I have had the pleasure of speaking to him a few times off the ice, and he is always great with the fans.  I also appreciate his intensity on the ice.  I love seeing Arcobello, he is usually the fastest player on the ice.  I think Hartikainen is great at bringing the puck around the net.  Trembley is a great overall player, brings great play and toughness every time.

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Mike: I’m always excited for the Barons players, and love seeing new guys come onto the team.  As far as opposing players, I liked seeing Stortini come back to town.

PT: Who is your favorite new player this season (2011-2012)?

Mike: It would have to be tie between Danis and LeNevue.

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Mike:  Danis … I can’t say enough about how much I have enjoyed him in net.

PT: What would you change about the team itself, if anything?

Mike:  I wouldn’t change much.  The product on the ice speaks for itself, first place!

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Mike:  I think Plante, Yeo, Danis, and Trembley have all played great and hope they get a permanent NHL position in the future.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Mike:  I had the chance to visit with Helmer for a bit.  He is such a nice person, and I admire his charitable work with Helmer’s Heros.

PT: Do you have any additional comments regarding the team and players?

Mike:  No, I think they are doing a great job and I think them for bringing great hockey to OKC!

Off-ice Fan Experiences – this includes inside the arena, outside events and social media:

PT: How is the off-ice experience for you as a fan this season? Pass or Fail and Why?

Mike:  Pass!  I always find the management attentive and easy to work with.

PT: What has been your best off-ice experience this season and why?

Mike:  Again, the chance to talk to Helmer about his career and charity.

PT: What has been your worst off-ice experience this season and why?

Mike:  I can’t think of anything that stands out as a bad experience.

PT: What would you like to change about the off-ice experience for next season?

Mike:  Nothing.  I am satisfied with amount of fan interaction the Barons provide.

PT: As a fan, what is your opinion of the social media aspect (Twitter, Facebook, Website)? Pass or Fail and Why?

Mike:  I am not on social media enough to really comment, though I would like to see a better phone app.

PT: Do you have any additional comments on this subject?

Mike:  I think the Barons management has made many improvements from season one to season two.  I look forward to further improvements, and enjoying more great hockey in OKC!

