Joe Pugh (Photo: Patricia Teter. All Rights Reserved.)

Joe appears at almost every game and Barons event. He is always enthusiastic, fun to talk to, and he is an extremely serious Barons supporter through good times as well as bad. Hockey fans such as Joe are a huge bonus to a team. He gives his time, as well as his support, and never gives up, even in a particularly bad stretch. I look forward to the day when the OKC Barons arena can be filled completely with loyal and positive fans such as Joe!

Meet Joe Pugh – OKC Barons Fan!!

Background:

PT: If you are not a native Oklahoman, where are from originally?

Joe:  Originally from VA, got stationed here at Tinker AFB while in the Navy, loved it here and don’t plan on leaving!

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Joe:  I’ve always been intrigued by it, but a serious fan since 2004

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Joe:  My family isn’t a hockey following family, so I never grew up cheering for just one team. Now I pull for the Oilers since I’m able to watch the young Barons grow into Oilers stars of tomorrow!

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Joe:  I don’t really have one single favorite. I love watching playmakers though like Ovechkin, Crosby, Thornton, Hall, Sedin twins, etc.

PT: If you are from OKC, were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Joe:  I lived in OKC when the Blazers were still here and was a huge fan! Mainly because that was the first time I was exposed to live hockey. I’m even a bigger fan of the Barons. It’s so much more physical, has a much faster pace, and overall quality of talent far surpasses that of the Blazers.

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Joe:  Since day 1!

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? All? Most?  Explain.

Joe:  Every Barons home game. I also watch NHL tonight and NHL on the fly like no other.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far? 

Joe:  If I could sum it up in one word I would say its “unreal”. To see the history of the Oilers AHL organization and to see the difference we’ve had in just 2 years, there’s really no other way to describe it.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Joe:  I’d have to go with Andrew Lord as my favorite. Anytime that I’m able to speak with him, he will always stop what he’s doing and talk like we’re old friends. I also love watching Magnus Paajarvi, Tristan Grant, Antti Tyrvainen, Alex “Duke” Plante, Yann Danis, Teemu Hartikainen, and of course Kirill Tulupov!

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Joe:  Unfortunately for him, Andrew Lord. I knew he had a killer off-season and I was really looking forward to see the improvements he had made to his game over the summer.

PT: Who is your favorite new player this season (2011-2012)?

Joe:  Yann Danis, without a doubt. He is absolutely stunning to watch between the pipes!

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Joe:  Magnus Paajarvi. He skates so cleanly and smoothly it’s not even funny. The way he’s able to weave in and out of people and make things happen is just very entertaining to me.

PT: What would you change about the team itself, if anything?

Joe:  Very little. This team has had amazing chemistry all year. The coaching staff is among the best in the league, the goaltenders are obviously the best around. The only thing we seem to lack is defensive depth. But that’s as an organization as a whole.

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Joe:  As a full-time roster member, Teemu and Yann. As a player that gets called up as needed, Antti.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Joe:  Getting to know Coach Nelson as a person after the radio shows on Monday nights. He’s a really interesting guy to talk to.

PT: Do you have any additional comments regarding the team and players?

Joe:  If this is what we can accomplish in just 2 years, I can’t wait to see what the future holds for Oklahoma City and the Edmonton Oilers!!!

Off-ice Fan Experiences – this includes inside the arena, outside events and social media:

PT: How is the off-ice experience for you as a fan this season? Pass or Fail and Why?

Joe:  For me personally, it’s a little of both. There are things that are done quite well with Derrick and Bit, some good events to access players and so forth. Then there are some things that personally I’m not a fan of. I try to look past most of the things I’m not a fan of because I understand that they are trying to reach out to people other than myself.

PT: What has been your best off-ice experience this season and why?

Joe:  Best off ice would have to be going to the radio shows on Mondays. Those are a blast! If it weren’t for the radio show, there’s quite a few fans that I wouldn’t have any clue who they were.

PT: What has been your worst off-ice experience this season and why?

Joe:  I would have to say the ice girl of the night feature. I still cannot figure out why they think the majority of the fans would want to know more about the ice girls than our own hockey players. To me that should have a been a get to know your barons segment instead.

PT: What would you like to change about the off-ice experience for next season?

Joe:  As everyone knows, I’m not a fan of Shane. Something with him needs to change, be it his role, his sound, something. Personally, I’ve not had too big of a problem with Ben. There are things he’s said that have left me at a loss, but compared to Shane, he’s extremely better.

PT: As a fan, what is your opinion of the social media aspect (Twitter, Facebook, Website)? Pass or Fail and Why?

Joe:  I think they’re great ideas! Everyone has social media nowadays and uses it regularly in some sort of fashion. The website is fine with me. If only they had some wallpapers for my iPhone, iPad, and desktop I’d be set. I also really like the new update for the iPhone app!

PT: Do you have any additional comments on this subject?

Joe:  As a fan of the Barons and hockey in general, I will support this team through thick and thin. To me, if all we can find to complain about are the off-ice activities, then to me that’s ok. I’m not here for the off-ice activities. That’s not why I’m a STH, I’m here to watch what’s on the ice. Coach Nelson and his staff have done an amazing job with the guys they have this. They are the entertainment for me.

