Teemu Hartikainen and Nick Sitter (Photo: Patricia Teter, All Rights Reserved.)

Earlier this year I met Nick and his family who are regulars at the OKC Barons games. Nick is a serious young hockey fan! I have greatly enjoyed talking to him and I am continually amazed at his growing hockey card collection. His most recent hockey card is one of coach Todd Nelson’s! Nick is also a young member of the OKC Barons fan group known as “Tulupov’s Army.”

Meet Nick Sitter — OKC Barons fan!

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Nick:  I have been a hockey fan for about 2 1/2 years.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Nick:  The Winnipeg Jets are my favorite team. The reason why is because when the Thrashers moved to Winnipeg they were more or less the same team in another jersey and in a different city.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Nick:  Well, I like everyone on the Jets and Oilers along with Sidney Crosby

PT: Do you collect hockey souvenirs? Tell us about them:

Nick: Yeah, I collect hockey pucks and Barons Hockey Cards. My room is crawling with hockey items including my Thrashers rug and a mini Penguins helmet. There is a lot more but those are a good majority of them.

PT: What are your favorite hockey souvenirs? 

Nick: Among my favorites are my Thrashers rug and Jersey with Zach Bogosian on the back. Tulupov and Yann Danis signed Puck. Lastly in the favorites section is my signed Yann Danis Jersey and a Russian hockey card of Yann Danis also signed!

PT: If you are from OKC, were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Nick:  I sadly did not make it to any Blazers games but I of course hear they were good.

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Nick:  I was here for the 1st game and went once or twice a month. The more the season went on the more games we went to. This year however I have not missed a game and don’t plan on missing the playoffs either!

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? 

Nick:  All. Because its fun, the team is great, and the people are also great.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far?

Nick:  I think Todd Nelson and his staff are working very hard and I think it has showed this season. The team just speaks for itself, just look at our stats and you can tell that they have worked very hard.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Nick:  Yann Danis is my favorite because he is nice and remembers me as a good fan. Tulupov because, well, it’s Tulupov!

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Nick:  Paajarvi, because he is fast and furious, especially in a shootout.

PT: Who is your favorite new player this season (2011-2012)?

Nick:  Favorite new player would have to be Yann Danis as I said earlier.

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Nick:  Tulupov, thanks to Tulupov’s Army which I am a member as well.

PT: What would you change about the team itself, if anything?

Nick:  I would have better defense. We have great defense but they sometimes don’t get back in time a little too often.

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Nick:  Yann Danis, Alex Plante, Taylor Chorney, and Philippe Cornet. Also anybody that’s played quite a bit in the Oilers already like Paajarvi and Teubert.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Nick:  I think it will be at the party when I get my Todd Nelson card signed and he asks “Where in the world did you get this!”

PT: Do you have any additional comments regarding the team and players?

Nick:  No comments other than I hope we go deep into the playoffs!

Off-ice Fan Experiences

PT: Other than hockey, what have you been up to this season?

Nick:  I have had a good time playing Modern Warfare 3. I got 1 hour of 3 in a competition and got in the top 25%. I have had a good time with Tulupov’s army and friends. Everything is going good in life. I’m doing good in track and school and am having a fun time.

PT: What has been your worst hockey experience this season and why?

Nick:  Worst would have to be the time I got sick at the arena. I stayed through the whole game and I must say it was worth it whenever Yann Danis signed my hockey card at  the post game signings.

PT:  As a fan, do you like to keep in touch with other fans via social media? Facebook and/or Twitter? 

Nick:  I like Facebook because of fans like me. Barons fans in the OKC Barons Diehards and Tulupov’s Army especially.

