Kim White with “Goose” Doug Groenestege (Photo: Kim White. All Rights Reserved.)

I first met Kim when I joined the Booster Club earlier this season and I was thrilled when she wished to participate in my fan interviews. By the way, if you have NOT joined the Booster Club, do it! Their events are great fun – I was only able to attend one event this season unfortunately, but bowling with the team was one of the highlights of my hockey season. How can you not have fun bowling with Tristan Grant, Tanner House and Andrew Lord? Okay, these hockey players are much better at bowling than I will ever be, but it was fun chatting with the guys, their girlfriends and wives.

Meet Kim White – OKC Barons Fan!

Background:

PT: Where are you located? Please tell us a bit about yourself.

Kim:  I have lived in the OKC area all of my life.  I have a 27 year old son (28 in July) and 1 granddaughter.  I work out of my house doing Radiology Transcription for a nationwide company.  I have been in the Booster Club my entire hockey life doing the Ways and Means for the club.

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Kim: Since 2006.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Kim:  Red Wings first then probably the Penguins.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Kim:  Too many to number as favorite.

PT: Do you have any hockey souvenirs? What are they?

Kim: I have post cards, bobble heads, pictures with several players, calendar magnets, and T-shirts.

PT: What is your favorite hockey souvenir(s)? (Jersey, puck, etc.)

Kim:  Probably my Christmas tree ornament of a hockey player.

PT: If you are from OKC, were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Kim:  Yes, that is when I became a fan.  I was going through a brief (ugly) relationship and hockey was my escape.  I met Vicki LeMaster (hockey sister) and not only did our friendship grow, so did my love of the sport. I wouldn’t compare the Blazers to the Barons only that its hockey. The Barons have a much faster more skilled approach even though I love the fact that I was able to establish relationships with some of the former Blazers and their families and remain friends with them today.

Blazers’ Goalies Andy Franck and Doug “Goose” Groenestege (Photo: Kim White. All Rights Reserved.)

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Kim:  Yes.

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? All? Most?  Explain.

Kim:  I’m a season seat holder x2 years and have only missed 1 game only because I had to make a decision opening night or my granddaughter’s 1st birthday.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far? 

Kim:  Awesome.  Coach Nelly is simply the best.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Kim:  Being in the Booster Club I have refrained from having a “favorite” as we promote all of them.  They are great team of guys and work as a team.

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Kim:  All of them.

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Kim:  Probably Pitlick … his sense of humor on Twitter is quite comical.

PT: What would you change about the team itself, if anything?

Kim:  Nothing.

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Kim:  VandeVelde, Teemu, Keller.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Kim:  The Booster Club event we held in March … the guys had a good time with our “gag” gift exchange.

Off-ice Fan Experiences – this includes inside the arena, outside events and social media:

PT: How is the off-ice experience for you as a fan this season? Pass or Fail and Why?

Kim:  Pass, except SMG needs to upgrade the bathrooms with feminine products, and HOT water.

FAIL on the news media coverage.  Channel 4 is the best.  I get sick of hearing about the THUNDER.  I say a team still in infancy and going this deep into the playoffs needs more recognition besides a 2 column article sporadically in the newspaper.  The state track meet got more coverage than the Barons did and that is sad. Then to have The Daily Oklahoman’s representatives in the arena promoting the local newspaper is a JOKE.   I even told them last year and again this year … give us more coverage and I may subscribe but until then forget it. GET SOME PICS OF THE TEAM HUGS AFTER A GOAL or pictures of them doing their PR stuff off the ice like when they visit the areas hospitals.  GET THEM OUT THERE in the pubic media.  Like Helmer’s Heroes.

PT: What has been your best off-ice experience this season and why?

Kim:  Either the bowling or end of the season banquet.

PT: What has been your worst off-ice experience this season and why?

Kim:  Haven’t had one.

PT: As a fan, what is your opinion of the social media aspect (Twitter, Facebook, Website)? Pass or Fail and Why?

Kim: Pass, the websites are great.

PT: Do you have any additional comments on this subject?

Kim:  GO BARONS “LET’S GO ALL THE WAY”.

Blazers player Marty Standish no. 8 (Photo: Kim White. All Rights Reserved.)

