Nick Fleehart at Calgary Flames game (Photo: Nick Fleehart. All Rights Reserved.)

Nick is my nemesis. As you can see, Nick is a Calgary Flames fan. And … yes, I’m a Vancouver Canucks fan. For me, the Calgary Flames are a western Canadian team with Jarome Iginla and that is about it. For Nick, the Canucks are … well, it is really not printable here so I will leave that to your imagination! ;) Seriously, Nick is a very funny guy who runs an adult (i.e. beer!) hockey league here in OKC – the Oklahoma City Gladiators Hockey Club and if you have the opportunity, come out to see them play! Get involved with their fund raising events such as Broomball hockey, Pub Crawls, as well as their charitable fundraising events during the summer.

Meet Nick Fleehart – OKC Barons Fan!

Background:

PT: How long have you been a hockey fan?

Nick:  Since 2006.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL team and why?

Nick:  Calgary Flames.  My wife is from Calgary and introduced me to hockey. First game was Flames vs Oilers on New Year’s Eve in Calgary.  Met Jarome Iginla the next day. I have been hooked since.

PT: Who is your favorite NHL player(s) and why?

Nick:  So hard to answer..  I guess if I can only give one I have to say Jarome Iginla.  He is the best captain in the NHL. Such a class act and a hell of a player.

PT: Do you have any hockey souvenirs? What are they?

Nick:  I collect Flames stuff. I also collect hockey gloves that I use when I am playing.

PT: What is your favorite hockey souvenir(s)? (Jersey, puck, etc.)

Nick:  My pair of Calgary Flames Heritage Classic Easton gloves. Used during the game.

Nick’s Calgary Flames Heritage Classic Creepers (Photo: Nick Fleehart. All Rights Reserved.)

PT: If you are from OKC, were you a Blazers fan? And if so, how do you compare the Blazers with the AHL OKC Barons team?

Nick:  I went to a few games but wasn’t a huge fan. I went mainly for Thirst Thursdays haha.  The main difference is not many people go to games now. I think it’s because they don’t fight as much.  OKC fans think hockey is all about fighting.  The Barons and the AHL are a much higher level and skilled version of what we used to have.

The OKC Barons Team (Players and Coaching staff):

PT: The OKC Barons are now two years old – did you have an opportunity to follow the team since the beginning?

Nick:  Yes I have ..

PT: How many games do you attend and/or watch on average? All? Most?  Explain.  

Nick:  I go to as many as my work and “wife” schedule will allow me to.

PT: What is your opinion of the team and coaching this season, so far?  

Nick:  The team has been great. Other than being affiliated with Edmonton I don’t have any complaints. They have a lot of talented pieces.

PT: Who are your favorite players and why?

Nick:  MPS – I think he is just one crazy skilled guy. I am a huge Teemu fan as well.  Our goalie is also a great player.

PT: Which player were you most excited to see play this season?

Nick:  It would have to MPS. The kid has all the tools, he just can’t seem to use all of them at once for long periods of time. I am glad he is around for the playoffs and hopes things click for him soon.

PT: Who is your favorite new player this season (2011-2012)?

Nick:  I think it would have to be Tulupov.

PT: Who is your fan favorite this season and why?

Nick:  Tulupov.  I haven’t gotten to see him much but the fact that he has endeared himself to the fan base is awesome.

PT: What would you change about the team itself, if anything?

Nick:  I would affiliate them with Calgary. HAHA!!  There isn’t really much to change about the on ice product.

PT: Who deserves a chance at breaking into the Oilers roster next season?

Nick:  I think Danis deserves a shot. The Oilers have been pretty shotty in net for a while.

PT: Describe your best team/player/coach experience this season:

Nick:  I haven’t really had many.

Off-ice Fan Experiences – this includes inside the arena, outside events and social media:

PT: How is the off-ice experience for you as a fan this season? Pass or Fail and Why?

Nick:  Fail.  First off the games are pretty boring if you are not a hockey fan.  Secondly there isn’t much promotion going on. We can’t expect to gain new Barons or hockey fans if no one is excited to go to see a game.  The Barons also don’t seem to be involved at all with the hockey community in Oklahoma. It’s actually pretty sad.  I have contacted them many times about getting involved with the adult hockey community and usually don’t even get a response.  When I do get a response it’s a “No thank you but thanks for your interest .”

PT: What has been your best off-ice experience this season and why?

Nick:  Playoff watch party at Rococo’s with the Tulupov Army.  It always good when you can become part of a small hockey community.

PT: What has been your worst off-ice experience this season and why?

Nick:  I don’t really have one.

PT: What would you like to change about the off-ice experience for next season?

Nick:  More promo, more exciting presentation, more community involvement.

PT: As a fan, what is your opinion of the social media aspect (Twitter, Facebook, Website)? Pass or Fail and Why?  

Nick:  Meh.. satisfactory I suppose but it seems as if all they do is post what times the games are and the scores.  They could be a bit more community involved (common theme eh?)

Nick and Harvey the Hound (Photo: Nick Fleehart. All Rights Reserved.)

